The Fall Spirit

The connection

I have always loved this season and deep down I believed that this connection relates to my birth month November which happens to be the last month of fall in the beautiful Middle East region where I was born and lived most of my life. But I was wrong!

Here I am in Melbourne Australia now, where Autumn as we call it here, “falls” in March, April and May and my connection with the season is as strong as it has always been when I was in a different zone. It makes me realise that this tie to “Fall” has a lot more than my birth month and goes deeper in touch with who I am wherever I go.

So what’s so special about Fall?

While some people think of Fall as a lazy season after the active summer and before the energy is sucked by winter, I find that I am mostly energetic in this time of the year and I wanted to dig more into the reason. My research lead me to read about Chinese medicine and the five elements acupuncture.

What does Chinese medicine say about fall

In Chinese medicine and more specifically the 5 elements acupuncture, Autumn is associated with metal. In nature, metal revitalises earth and Autumn is the time of falling downward and death for future birth of a new generation. It is nourishments from rotten materials and it’s time of letting go. Chinese medicine describes how people with a healthy metal element take in the richness of life in order to feel satisfied. They get attached to what nourishes their life, such as family, friends or pets but they also accept that when something is over they must let go, they mature from their experience and learn to lose the bond of their attachments and this forms how they respond to the world in their life1.

Fall, Metal and me

I have a strong metal like character, firm but can be shaped under the proper conditions so I turn it into a shield to protect myself from life’s changes and losses. It’s the gift that makes me move on every time I face a loss. I continuously analyse my life and the elements that makes it and I rid myself from all the things I feel they no longer serve me but they pull me down so I let go of them.

I now know that my connection with fall is beyound place and time.

1Hicks, Angela Hicks, John and Mole, Peter, 2011, "Five Element Constitutional Acupuncture”, Elsevier Health Science, UK.

Leave a comment